IEC 62271-213:2021


IEC 62271-213:2021 is applicable to the voltage detecting and indicating system (VDIS) to be installed on indoor and outdoor high-voltage equipment.
The VDIS as defined by this document includes a coupling system per phase (capacitive, resistive coupling or other technology) to connect to live parts (main circuit).
This first edition cancels and replaces the first edition of IEC 61243-5 published in1997 and the first edition of IEC 62271-206 published in 2011. This edition constitutes a merging of the content of IEC 61243-5 and IEC 62271-206.
This edition includes the following significant technical changes with respect to the previous editions of IEC 61243-5 and IEC 62271-206:
a) an optional output signal is defined to be used for multipurpose use cases;
b) only one interface is defined for voltage detecting and indicating system (VDIS);
c) the measurement of the current carrying capacity of the voltage limiting element is considered as inaccurate and is not considered in this document. The experience shows that a probability of the failure of the coupling element is negligible.

Issue Date




Included in IECEE System


Purchase webstore
Test Report Form

No information declared

Testing Equipment List

No information declared

DISCLAIMER: National differences

The National differences and Group differences, National Deviations and Special National conditions (SNC), are based solely on information provided to the Secretariat by the IECEE Member Bodies and/or NCBs and other sources. The IEC/IECEE is not responsible for, nor will it take any position related to, the accuracy or validity of the information provided. To verify the current status of this type of information, we recommend contacting the Member Body (MB) or National Certification Body (NCB) of the relevant country.

Group Differences are applicable for CENELEC member countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

No information declared

No information declared

No information declared

No information declared