IEC 60800:2021


IEC 60800:2021 is available as IEC 60800:2021 RLV which contains the International Standard and its Redline version, showing all changes of the technical content compared to the previous edition.

IEC 60800:2021 is applicable to, and specifies requirements for resistive heating cables for low temperature applications such as comfort heating and the prevention of ice formation. These heating cables and heating cable sets can comprise either factory assembled or field (work-site) assembled units, and are heating cables assembled in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions. Bare conductors and protected conductors to be supplied at voltages equal to, or less than, 50 V are excluded from the scope of this document.
Typical applications include, but are not limited to:
- surface heating installed in or under surfaces;
- direct and storage heating;
- snow melting and frost protection of roofs, gutters, pipes, etc.
Electrical resistance trace heating systems for industrial and commercial applications are specified in the IEC 62395 series [1] and for explosive atmospheres applications in the IEC/IEEE 60079-30 series [2], as are mineral insulated heating cables. Applications in which the sheath temperature exceeds 100 °C are outside the scope of this document.

Issue Date




Included in IECEE System


Purchase webstore
Test Report Form
Testing Equipment List
DISCLAIMER: National differences

The National differences and Group differences, National Deviations and Special National conditions (SNC), are based solely on information provided to the Secretariat by the IECEE Member Bodies and/or NCBs and other sources. The IEC/IECEE is not responsible for, nor will it take any position related to, the accuracy or validity of the information provided. To verify the current status of this type of information, we recommend contacting the Member Body (MB) or National Certification Body (NCB) of the relevant country.

Group Differences are applicable for CENELEC member countries: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Republic of North Macedonia, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

No information declared

No information declared